Workers find themselves in dangerous situations every day, whether they are dealing with industrial machinery or seemingly harmless office equipment. They depend on their good health to do their job, which means they must take steps to prevent injuries. However, according to a recent study by the Steinberg Law Firm, a substantial percentage of South Carolina workers are unsure of what to do if they are injured in the workplace and feel as if they cannot report the injury.
The survey highlights misconceptions about workplace injuries and workers’ compensation laws. 42 percent of those surveyed believe that any injury or illness has to be reported within 24 hours in order for them to receive compensation, although state law actually allows workers up to two years to report their injury. Nearly 25 percent of workers also said that they would keep their injury a secret from their employer for fear of missing work. And, although most South Carolina workers said they could locate a first aid kit and fire extinguisher in their workplace, nearly a quarter of the respondents have never seen a sign about workers’ compensation policies posted by their employer.
If you would like to read more about the results of this new study, click here.
Our attorneys at the Steinberg Law Firm have over 85 years of experience handling workers’ compensation cases in South Carolina. If you or a loved one has been injured in a workplace accident and needs help filing a claim, call 843-720-2800 to find out how we can help you.