Emma’s Law: Ignition Interlock Devices for Convicted DUI Offenders
Effective October 1st, 2014, anyone convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol with a BAC over 0.15% will be required to use an ignition interlock device on his or her car for a minimum of 6 months. Any second-time offenders must use the locking device for two years.
DUI Ignition Interlock’s new ordinance, named for 6-year-old Emma Longstreet who was killed in an accident caused by a repeat DUI offender, was signed into law on May 1st of this year by Governor Nikki Haley. DUI offenders who install ignition interlock devices on their cars will not be able to start their vehicles if they have been drinking. The devices also have cameras which take a picture of the person blowing into the device, to make sure someone else doesn’t blow into it to get the car to start.
Each ignition interlock device costs about $30 dollars to install, and the offender will need to pay roughly $100 each month to keep it in his or her vehicle, as well as a $100 fee for a restricted ignition interlock license. Officials hope it will reduce the number of drunk drivers on South Carolina Roads.
We Need to Remember and Thank All of South Carolina’s Healthcare Workers Fighting the Coronavirus, Not Just the Doctors and Nurses
As South Carolina struggles with the growing coronavirus pandemic, we express our deepest gratitude to South Carolina’s doctors, nurses and other healthcare workers treating patients infected with COVID-19 and risking…