Is Getting Compensation From a Hit and Run Accident Possible in South Carolina?
It is possible to get compensation from a hit and run accident. Compensation can be acquired even though you have no way of knowing if the fleeing driver had insurance. A lawsuit or claim can be filed even if you do not know who hit you, because, in South Carolina, you may sue the at-fault John or Jane Doe.
If the at-fault driver is not found, you can file a claim with your insurance provider. Two types of insurance help in hit-and-run cases: uninsured motorist (UM) and medical payment coverage (medpay).
Suing an unknown at-fault driver in South Carolina is covered under uninsured driver insurance. Three conditions need to be met to make a claim. The requirements are:
- The plaintiff was not negligent in trying to identify the at-fault driver. A police report corroborates accident details.
- The collision must be reported by or on behalf of the plaintiff within a reasonable time after the crash. Eyewitnesses can lend credibility to a case.
- Injuries and damages to your vehicle must be the result of physical contact with the other car.
- Someone besides the operator/owner of the insured vehicle witnessed the collision, and that individual must sign an affidavit confirming the facts of the accident.
If you do not know who hit you, or if the other driver does not carry liability insurance, you recover compensation from your insurance company under your uninsured motorist policy.
Medpay covers out of pocket expenses before you settle the UM claim. If you have medical payment coverage, give your initial bills to your insurance company, and they should issue a check per your coverage limits.
All drivers in South Carolina are legally bound to buy uninsured driver insurance for a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury/per person and $50,000 in bodily injury/per accident. Despite uninsured motorist coverage being a statutory requirement, many drivers do not buy it. In the case of hit-and-run accidents, plaintiffs are often unable to file for compensation above what their insurance covers.
If you have been injured in a hit-and-run accident, contact the Steinberg Law Firm today. Our legal team will do all we can to answer any questions you have about hit-and-run accident claims. With over 170 years of combined legal experience, you can feel confident that we have the answers you are searching for.
Our initial consultation is confidential and free of charge. We understand that the claims process can be confusing and intimidating; our car accident attorneys are here to help. We will help you know the details of your case, your legal rights, and how to get the compensation and justice you deserve. Call our office today at 843-720-2800 or visit one of our offices in downtown Charleston, Goose Creek, or Summerville.
“If you rear-end a car, you are always at fault.” This rule of the road gets drilled into our heads from the moment we start driving, often with good reason:…