Cycling Safety Laws Not Being Enforced
Cycling safety laws meant to protect bicyclists passed a little over a year ago. Those laws have not been enforced very well, leaving cyclists somewhat unprotected.
The law states that drivers must stay a safe distance from cyclists. An infraction that causes injury can lead to a $1000 fine. Also, harassing, taunting or throwing things at cyclists can lead to a minimum fine of $250.
These laws need to be enforced to protect cyclists. Currently, South Carolina has a cycling accident fatality rate that is nearly double the national average.
Drivers in South Carolina must carry liability insurance — at least $25,000 for property damage, $25,000 for bodily injury and death to one person, and $50,000 for bodily injury and…
Last week, the South Carolina Supreme Court decided that workers who trip and fall at work are entitled to compensation for their injuries, even if the cause of the accident is…