New Rules for Moped Drivers in South Carolina
A new law sent to Gov. Nikki Haley to sign after passing Senate approval on June 2 would require moped drivers to license and register their mopeds in 2017. The new guidelines for moped drivers are intended to boost safety on our roadways. The last few years have seen an increase in moped fatalities and collisions.
Lawmakers hope that the new guidelines, which include a requirement for blinking red lights on mopeds, will put an end to the upward trend of moped accidents and make the roads safer for everyone.
Under the new guidelines, moped riders will be required to:
- Wear reflective safety vests while riding on roads with a speed limit of 55 mph or less
- Wear helmets if riders are under 21 years old
- Obey a speed limit of 35 mph
Moped drivers who are under the influence of drugs or alcohol could also be arrested by law enforcement.
At the Steinberg Law Firm, our attorneys our committed to helping the victims of auto accidents get the compensation they deserve. If you or your loved one is injured in an accident, call our experienced lawyers at 843-720-2800. We represent clients throughout the Charleston, South Carolina area.