South Carolina Institutes Texting While Driving Ban
South Carolina governor Nikki Haley recently signed into law legislation that bans composing, sending, or reading a text-based communication while driving. The penalty for violating this law will be a $25 fine, though police officers have been instructed to only issue warnings during the first 180 days that the law is in effect.
The $25 fine for texting while driving is among the lowest in the nation, tying Alabama and Kentucky for the second-cheapest overall. Furthermore, the statewide ban will supersede those enacted in local communities, including Charleston and Mt. Pleasant, that had imposed significantly higher fines on drivers within those jurisdictions who committed an offense.
Texting while driving is a growing concern as more and more accidents on our nation’s roadways are caused or aggravated by drivers distracted by their mobile technology. If you have been injured in an accident caused by texting while driving, the Charleston personal injury attorneys at the Steinberg Law Firm may be able to help. Contact us at 843-720-2800 today to learn more about what we can do to help you take action against the party responsible for your losses.
In the summer months, car accidents tend to occur more frequently. The presence of more teen drivers, road congestion, construction, alcohol impairment and excessive heat give rise to an increase…