What If the At-Fault Driver in South Carolina is Uninsured?
Drivers in South Carolina must carry liability insurance — at least $25,000 for property damage, $25,000 for bodily injury and death to one person, and $50,000 for bodily injury and death to all persons involved in the accident. Unfortunately, not all drivers in South Carolina have insurance. According to a study by the Insurance Research Council, 9.4 percent of South Carolina drivers were uninsured in 2015.
South Carolina drivers must carry uninsured motorist coverage in the same amount as liability insurance. More uninsured motorist coverage is optional. If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, you can get compensation from your own insurance company under your uninsured motorist coverage for your medical expenses and lost wages.
Your uninsured motorist coverage may protect you if the identity of the party causing the accident is not known. To recover compensation, the injury or property damage to you or your vehicle must be caused by physical contact with the unknown vehicle, or someone other than you must witness the accident. You can file a John Doe action.
South Carolina drivers can purchase underinsured motorist insurance. This coverage applies when the amount of your damages exceeds the amount of the at-fault party’s liability insurance. Your insurance company would make up the difference, up to your policy limits.
If you suffer injuries in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, call a personal injury lawyer at Steinberg Law Firm 24/7 at 843-720-2800, make an appointment at www.steinberglawfirm.com, or visit our offices in Charleston, Goose Creek or Summerville. The initial consultation is free.
North Carolina Court of Appeals Issues Decision that a Townhome Owners Association Could Not Pursue Construction Defect Claims
A recent decision from the North Carolina Court of Appeals, Shearon Farms Townhome Owners Association II, Inc. v. Shearon Farms Development, LLC, addresses who has the authority to bring construction…