How long do I have to file a suit against the developer or builder for my home?
In South Carolina, the general rule is that you have 8 years from the last date on which work was performed on your home. After 8 years, the law (the “statute of repose”) limits the claims an owner can bring. However, even if a home is more than 8 years old, it is still important to contact an attorney because are still ways we can recover compensation from a developer or builder.
South Carolina law also provides (the “statute of limitations”) that an owner usually must bring suit within 3 years of when the owner knew of a problem. However, even if a problem may have existed for more than 3 years, it is still best to contact an attorney because there may be facts that make it so that the limitation does not apply.
Due to these time limitations, it is important for homeowners to consult a lawyer and take legal action as soon as possible to ensure they do not forfeit their legal rights.
Call now to speak with someone about your construction defect claim for FREE. The initial consultation is completely confidential, no obligation, and at no cost to you. Call 843-720-2800 today. Our phones are answered day or night – 24/7/365 – and our legal staff is standing by to help you right now.